Back to the home page of Loutraki city guide
Byzantine & Christian Monuments


Saint John The Baptist

Our Lady Yatrissa

Agios Fanourios

St. Andrew

Christ's Resurrection

St George

Monastery of St Marina

Nunnery of the Holy Trinity

Our Lady "tou Prathi"

On the Road to Perachora

St Paraskeve

Monastery of John the Baptist

Monastery of St Gerasimos & St Panteleimon

Monastery of the Prophet Elijah

Monastery of St Paul

Nunnery of Hosios Patapios


The Holy Church of the Assumption

St Demetrius

Cruch of the Greate Archangels

St Blaise

Our Lady 'Zoodochos Pigi'

The Prophet Elijah

Crhurch of the Seven Maccabees

Monastery of St Nicholas 'the Younger'

St Nicholas at the Heraion

Our Lady 'Ipapanti'

St George 


St Athanasius

St Paraskeve

St George

SCHINOS  (ancient oenoe)


The Transfiguration

St Blaise


Chrurch of the Great
Great Arhangels

This historic church is in Perachora itself and dates from 1767, when Greece was still under Turkish rule. The twelve steps leading to its entrance and the little doors of the church were constructed in such a way to prevent the conquerors from riding their horses inside during the service and desecrating the holy place, as was their custom. In 1832 ­after the liberation of Greece - a political faction called the 'Constitutionalists' made the church their headquarters when they were forced to leave Argos after a dispute with the supporters of Count Capodistrias, first Governor, of Greece.